Audio Pod title image

MEMBER LOGIN

Nickname or Account Number

Password

What is Audio Pod?
Subscribe Now Button Image
Forgot My Password

Previous Book On Shelf
Current Book Shelf
Next Book On Shelf

Lord Jim

Cover Art for Lord Jim

3.55

Audio Pod Debit Hours

Lord Jim

Joseph Conrad

A classic of early literary modernism, Lord Jim tells the story of a young "simple and sensitive character" who loses his honor in a display of cowardice at sea - and of his expiation of that sin against his own "shadowy ideal of conduct" on the remote island of Patusan. The novel, written by Conrad for magazine serialization during an intense and chaotic ten months in 1899 and 1900, has, in the words of Thomas C. Moser, "the rare distinction of being a masterpiece in two separate genres. It is at once an exotic adventure story of the Eastern seas in the popular tradition of Kipling and Stevenson and a complexly wrought 'art novel' in the tradition of Flaubert and James."

(Summary by Stewart Wills)

Read By

Stewart Wills

Published By
Librivox.org

Copyright (P) 2005/2008 LibriVox. No Rights Reserved.

This Recording is in the Public Domain

Photo credit Robert McCue


Book

Fiction, Adventure, History

Adult

14:12:01

Listen To Sample

673

Home Terms of Service Access Policy Privacy Contact Us Publishers Advertisers Partners Text Version

Copyright 2009 Audio Pod Inc. All Rights Reserved.

MP3 Bookmark is a registered trademark of Audio Pod Inc. Patents Pending.


This page was created in 01.0058 seconds.